Welcome to the Livingston County Web Site... call us at 660-646-8000!
  State of Missouri    Secretary of State    Opening a Missouri Business    Chillicothe: County Seat
History of Livingston County

Livingston County was formed in 1837 from Carroll County. Named after Hon. Edward Livingston, the 11th Secretary of State of the United States under President Andrew Jackson. Livingston borders Grundy County on the North, Linn and Chariton Counties to the East, Carroll County to the South, and Caldwell and Daviess Counties on the West. As one of the counties that makes up Northwest Missouri, it has everything from farm land and pasture to rugged, forested hills. It is populated by 15,195 residents (2010 census) and lies about 90 miles northeast of Kansas City.

Extensive history and photos is also available at the Livingston County Library web site.

Livingston County Celebrates 175 Years

Bureau of Land Management General Land Office Records | Missouri Death Records

Missouri Census Online | RootsWeb.com | County Profile | Enterprise Zone

Livingston County Courthouse
700 Webster Street
Chillicothe, MO 64601


Return to Top